Category: Uncategorized

  • Routledge Handbook of Foreign Policy Analysis Methods Published

    Edited by Patrick A. Mello and Falk Ostermann

    On December 26, the Routledge Handbook of Foreign Policy Analysis Methods was published (co-edited with Falk Ostermann, Kiel University). The handbook contains 34 chapters and a foreword from 46 international contributors, covering a diverse range of new and established methods of Foreign Policy Analysis (FPA). Embracing methodological pluralism and a belief in the value of an open discussion about methods’ assumptions and diverging positions, it provides new, state-of-the-art research approaches, as well as introductions to a range of established methods. Each chapter follows the same structured approach, introducing the method and its development, discussing strengths, requirements, limitations, and potential pitfalls while illustrating the method’s application using examples from empirical research. For more information on the book, including an excerpt from the foreword by Patrick Thaddeus Jackson and book endorsements from Charles F. Hermann, Margaret G. Hermann, Stéphanie Hofmann, Juliet Kaarbo, and Atsushi Tago, please see this page.

  • 10th International QCA Expert Workshop at ETH Zurich and Online

    On December 13-15, I participated virtually in the 10th International QCA Expert Workshop and the 6th International QCA Paper Development Workshop at ETH Zurich and online. As in previous years, the event was organized by Manuel Fischer, Julia Leib, Johannes Meuer, Sofia Pagliarin, Ryan Michael Rumble, and Christian Rupietta. The QCA Expert Workshop brought together a group of 36 QCA experts and practitioners from around the globe, many of whom participated online to discuss methodological innovations and new empirical applications. One highlight was Charles Ragin’s presentation on his forthcoming book Analytic Induction (to be published in 2023). The preceding QCA Paper Development Workshop was the 6th event of this kind, which included more than a dozen roundtables and breakout rooms where 36 applied QCA papers were presented and discussed. I co-chaired a Q&A session with Seweryn Krupnik (Jagiellonian University) and Martin Schneider (Paderborn University), and Seweryn and I also co-chaired a roundtable at the Paper Development Workshop.

  • Unintended Consequences of UN Sanctions On the Shortlist for the 2023 Bernard Brodie Prize

    Since 2009, Contemporary Security Policy (CSP) annually awards the Bernard Brodie Prize to recognize “an outstanding article published in the journal in the previous year”. The award is named after the American military strategist Bernard Brodie (1910-1978), author of influential books such as The Absolute Weapon (1946), Strategy in the Missile Age (1959), Escalation and the Nuclear Option (1966), War and Politics (1973), and From Crossbow to H-Bomb (1973, with Fawn M. Brodie). As CSP acknowledges on its website, Brodie established “ideas that remain at the centre of security debates to this day”. Moreover, he was “one of the first analysts to cross between official and academic environments” and, importantly, Brodie “pioneered the model of civilian influence that CSP represents”. As Brodie underlined, for instance in War and Politics (1973): “the civil hand must never relax, and it must without one hint of apology hold the control that has always belonged to it by right.” On November 29, the journal announced its shortlist for the 2023 Bernard Brodie Prize and our open access article “Unintended Consequences of UN Sanctions: A Qualitative Comparative Analysis” (co-authored with Katharina L. Meissner, University of Vienna) was among those selected. The complete shortlist and a collection all previous prize winners can be found on the CSP website.

  • Mitglied der Ethik-Kommission der DVPW, 2022-2027

    Vom 17. bis 30. Oktober 2022 fand die Online-Wahl zur Neubesetzung der Ethik-Kommission der Deutschen Vereinigung für Politikwissenschaft (DVPW) statt. Gemeinsam mit Sebastian Huhnholz, Ursula Münch, Susanne Pickel, Ingo Rohlfing und Gabi Schlag wurde ich für die Amtszeit von 2022 bis 2027 gewählt. In ihrer konstituierenden Sitzung einigte sich die Kommission auf Ingo Rohlfing als Vorsitzenden und Susanne Pickel als stellvertretende Vorsitzende. Neben Mitgliederversammlung, Vorstand und Rat ist die Ethik-Kommission eines der vier satzungsgemäßen Organe der DVPW. Die Arbeit der Ethik-Kommission beruht auf Grundlagen, die im Ethik-Kodex der DVPW ausgeführt werden. Die Kommission wird tätig, wenn sie aufgrund eines Verstoßes gegen den Ethik-Kodex angerufen wird. Weitere Informationen zur Ethik-Kommission und zur Kontaktaufnahme finden sich auf der Webseite der DVPW.